Acropolis and Downtown Athens

Hello all! Yesterday was a complete whirlwind of events. I don’t have much time to write a post so please excuse my brevity. We started off the day getting up early to climb the acropolis and see the parthenon to beat the heat. Then we all ate lunch together and the food was AMAZING. We strolled through the plaka (the historical shopping area) and then the central downtown area (more modern shopping). We finished the day eating gyros in the park and checking out the greek night life. I continue to be blown away by how nice everyone constantly is and how willing people are to help us out. We even made a few friends last night who were from London and were spending their “holiday” sailing around the Greek islands. I’ll leave the rest to the pictures!

DCIM100GOPRO

View of Athens from the top of the Acropolis

IMG_3409

Greek Soldiers raising the flag

IMG_3395

Sweet stray dog that the guards adopted

DCIM100GOPRO

My roommate Sara and I

IMG_3431

Parthenon!

IMG_3480

My first greek salad

IMG_3458

Acropolis Museum

IMG_3466

Acropolis Statue

IMG_3418

Panoramic shot of athens

 

IMG_3402

Ancient Theater where we get to watch an opera later this month!

IMG_3424

Athens selfie

IMG_3433

Parthenon

IMG_3445

Yummy cheese pastry

IMG_3456

Streets of Downtown Athens

IMG_3481

Group lunch

IMG_3472

YAY

Leave a comment